Getting to know… Barbara Haas

barbara-haas-austrian-tennis-player-wta-rising-star-asics-wilson-blonde-getting-to-know-interview

Photo credit : @Tennisandco

Born in Steyr, Barbara Haas is probably the most talented and promising Austrian tennis player. Currently 168th at the WTA ranking, she already won 10 singles titles on the ITF tour, including 2 this season in Naples and Port Pirie, and she just made her Grand Slam debut at Roland Garros. And for sure, there is a lot more to come for this still pretty young and talented player, because Barbara Haas definitely has the great state of mind to reach her goals and achieve some great success in the tennis world. So there is no doubt that you will hear more and more about her in the upcoming months and years… And whereas she is preparing the rest of her season, Barbara Haas has very nicely accepted to take a bit of her time to answer my questions to allow you to get to know her a bit more… 🙂

First of all, how did you get into tennis ?
My sister played tennis and therefore I also wanted to play.

How would you describe your playing style ? What are your strengths, and which compartment(s) of your game do you think you still need to improve the most ?
I would say constant and heavy from the baseline. I want to improve my aggressive game, getting in to the court, whenever I have the chance. And I would like to improve my serve too.

You already won two 25 000$ ITF titles this season, and just reached your career high singles ranking, I guess you’re pretty happy about that 🙂 How do you judge the first part of your season ?
I am happy about my first part of the season, the titles are great of course and also my grand slam debut at French Open went really well. So I am happy with that for now, but I’m always trying to improve my game, rather than just looking on results and points.

What’s your coaching situation ?
I have a great team around me, with Jürgen Waber as an experienced coach and Sybille Bammer as a former top 20 player.

Few weeks ago you played in Fed Cup for the second time of your career and won 3 of your 4 matches… What does it mean to you to represent your country ?
Representing my country means a lot to me, it´s about fighting for and together with the team, which is a different feeling than just playing only for myself, as I do the whole year.

What do you like to do to relax in your spare time ?
I of course enjoy just being at home, seeing my family and follow up on common things in daily life.

Who were your tennis idols when you were growing up, and why ?
Justine Henin – I loved her attitude and her style of playing.

If you could asked three wishes to the Genie, what would they be ? 🙂
a) health b) love c) happiness
Everything else you can achieve it with hard-work.

And to finish, some quick fire questions! 🙂

Favourite surface ? Clay and hard court
Favourite tournament ? Tournaments in Austria and US Open
Favourite city ? New York
Favourite place for holiday ? Florida
Favourite sport outside of tennis ? Skiing
Favourite food ? Wiener schnitzel
Favourite singer ? Justin Bieber
Favourite book ? Dear john book
Favourite TV show ? German soap – Gute Zeiten schlechte Zeiten
Favourite movie ? Many favourite movies 😉

I would like once again to warmly thanks Barbara for her kindness and her time, because I know it wasn’t easy. I wish her all the very best for the rest of the year and her career! I really believe there is a lot more great things coming for her 🙂

If you want to follow and support Barbara, you can do it via her Facebook fanpage here

barbara-haas-selfie-beach-sand-beautiful-wta-tennis-austria-talent-smile barbara-haas-smile-selfie-fans-austrian-talented-tennis-player-rising-star barbara-haas-coach-team-jurgen-waber-flug-facebook-page-tennis

Photos credit : Barbara Haas Facebook page (1st & 3rd pics)

Une réflexion au sujet de « Getting to know… Barbara Haas »

  1. Ping : A la découverte de… Barbara Haas | Tennisandco

Poster un commentaire (adresse e-mail non obligatoire)