Getting to know… Anett Kontaveit

anett-kontaveit-interview-getting-to-know-estonian-tennis-player

Crédit photo : Anett Kontaveit’s personnal archives

The young Estonian Anett Kontaveit started to play ITF women’s tournaments regularly in 2011, and this week she just reached her highest WTA ranking (n°176). Anett Kontaveit, who was born inTallinn, is only 18 years old. But next week, the young lady will play a Grand Slam main draw match for the 1st time of her career at Wimbledon, after a brilliant qualification campaign. Few weeks ago, the talented Estonian kindly accepted to answer some questions for this blog in order to let the fans know her a little bit more…

First of all, how did you get into tennis ?
I got into tennis thanks to my mum who is a coach. Already when I was 3 or 4 years old I would tag along with her to tennis camps with other kids and I always had a small raquet at home that I used to drag everywhere with me.

How would you describe your playing style and what are your strengths ?
I would describe my playing style as pretty aggressive and I would count that as my strength too.

Which compartment(s) of your game do you think you still need to improve the most ?
I think I still need to improve pretty much everything about my game.

What are your goals at present ?
My short term goal is to reach top 100. It definitely takes a lot of effort and sacrifices but I feel like I have it in me.

What do you like to do to relax in your spare time ?
I like to spend time with my friends, go to the movies, read books. I also love cooking and baking a lot.

I read that Roger Federer and Victoria Azarenka are your tennis idols… what do you admire about them ?
Federer is obviously one of the greatest players out there. I love his technique, how smooth he makes everything look and of course how mentally strong he is. And about Azarenka I really admire her fighting spirit.

What’s your favorite surface, tournament and city ?
I cant quite make my mind up about my favorite surface, when I play on clay I feel like it’s my favorite surface. When I’m hitting on grass I think it’s my favorite surface and I also love playing on hard courts.
But I think my favorite tournament is Wimbledon and London is also one of my favorite cities.

And to finish, if the Genie asks you what are your three wishes, what would they be ?
The only wish I have is to keep being healthy !

Poster un commentaire (adresse e-mail non obligatoire)