Barbora Stefkova : « I want much more »

Crédit photo : Jiří Vojzola

Crédit photo : Jiří Vojzola

When I had the chance to ask some questions to Barbora Stefkova one year ago, the Czech girl was 450th on the WTA ranking. One year later, the talented player made a great step forward, despite two injuries and a graduation she is now into the WTA top 300. A great step, but Barbora Stefkova wants more. “Work hard, dream big”, that could be Barbora Stefkova’s motto. After she won her first 25 000 $ on the ITF tour this year, the player from Olomouc knows she can do better. And for sure, there is a lot more to come for the still pretty young and talented Czech player because she definitely has the great state of mind to reach her goals and achieve some great success in the tennis world. In this little interview Barbora Stefkova talks about her injuries, her improvements, what looks like a typical day in her life and some more things 🙂 French version

First of all, how do you judge your 2015 season so far ? You just reached the highest singles ranking of your career, so I guess you are pretty happy…
Well, I had two injuries at the beginning of the year, then my graduation in school, so I think this season is a little bit better than I expected. I already won my first 25 000$ ITF tournament and reached the WTA top 300, so I am very motivated for the upcoming work. I’m happy that I reached top 300, but I want much more. I would like to be as high on the ranking as I could at the end of this season.

In which compartment(s) of your game do you think you have the most improved lately ?
I think my serve improved, but I am still working on it. Also now I know how to play better tactically.

You won your first match on the WTA tour this year 🙂 what’s the biggest difference(s) you have seen between WTA and ITF tournaments ?
The organisation for sure, and also the opponents. On WTA tournaments you play only top players. You don´t have any easy match there.

You unfortunately had a pretty long time off the courts due to an injury… Is there anything positive a player can learn from these tough moments ?
Well, it´s never easy for a player to be out of competition. But it happens sometimes, to everyone in sport, so you have to do everything to try to get back as soon as possible. And when you can do it, when you are back on court and you´re winning again after tough moments, I think that´s what makes player stronger.

What looks like a typical day in Barbora Stefkova’s life on the WTA/ITF tour ?
It really depends on the schedule. It depends if you play singles match or doubles match or both in same day. Usually when I wake up I go for breakfast and then we go to the club for a warm up. After the warm up I wait for my match. Next step when I finish my match is fitness, mostly just light exercises and stretching. Afterwards I relax in my hotel room, lately I’m having dinner and then go to bed around 10 p.m.

You have recently graduated, congratulations 🙂 Do you have any plan for online studies now, or just focus 100% on your tennis ?
I will go to university in September. Of course tennis has to be the priority now, but I think I can do both.

And to finish, some quick fire questions 🙂
Favourite place for holiday ? It would be somewhere here in Czech Republic.
Favourite sport outside of tennis ? Ice hockey.
Favourite drink ? Water.
Favourite food ? Spaghetti and capers.
Favourite singer ? It´s tough to say just one but I like Ed Sheeran, Sam Smith or Coldplay
Favourite book ? I don´t read a lot but I had to read 20 books for my graduation exams so if I could choose from these, then I would say “Servant of Two Masters”.
Favourite TV show ? The big bang theory, I love it.
Favourite movie ? Taken (1,2,3)

Once again I would like to warmly thanks Barbora for her big availability and her kindness! I wish her all the best for the rest of the year and her career! 🙂

If you want to follow and support Barbora, you can do it via her Facebook fanpage here

Poster un commentaire (adresse e-mail non obligatoire)

